FREECAST S02E17: Keno beats the odds & UNH History

Tom The Freecast

This week, Nick Boyle is going solo this week in bringing you the latest on The Freecast.

Featuring Host: Nick Boyle

Engineered by: Matt Carano

Produced by: Tom Hudson, Matt Carano, and Nick Boyle



Special Segment

  • UNH
    • Morrill Act of 1862 signed by Abraham Lincoln.
      • called for the federal government to provide each state with a grant of land that could be sold “for the endowment, support, and maintenance of at least one college” to teach agriculture and the mechanic arts.
    • Founded 1866
    • Originally NH College of Agriculture and the Mechanic Arts
    • First located in Hanover in association with Dartmouth College
    • First class had 10 students, only 3 graduated.
    • The first professor, Ezekiel Webster Dimond arrived with 7 boxes of books, specimens and equipment. This was at the time the complete physical property of the college.
    • Wealthy farmer Benjamin Thompson bequeathed his large farm and $400,000 to the State of NH to further develop the college. He died in 1890 and his will became public
    • In 1891 Governor Hiram tuttle signed 2 bills accepting Thompson’s will and granting the move to Durham.
    • In fall 1893 the new college opened. There were 53 freshmen and 13 upperclassmen. Three times the projected enrollment. Graduate study was also established for the first time. For comparison in 2016, there were 12,840 undergraduates and 2,500 postgraduates.
    • The Board of Trustees appoint Charles Muckland to be the first president of the college. Muckland’s goal was to educate all the youth of the state, not just in agriculture.
    • In 1923 Governor Fred Brown signed a bill changing the name of the college to The University of New Hampshire.
    • In 1925 the mill tax law was signed, provided that each year the University receive an amount equal to one-tenth of one percent of the assessed valuation of all property in the state.
    • In 1946, due to the GI bill, enrollment increased from 1,270 to 3,400 with veterans accounting for most of the increase.
    • In 1949, the state mandated that all UNH faculty sign a loyalty oath, swearing they opposed the violent overthrow of the government and did not belong to any organization that advocated such action. (The oath was on the books until 1969.)
    • Congress established the National Sea Grant College Program in 1966 in response to concerns about the nation’s marine and coastal resources. UNH and UMaine at Orono were jointly designated as the nation’s 14th Sea Grant Colleges.